preloader

Search on AEQ-WEB

AEQ-WEB | Blog

ESP32 LoRa Board LoRaWAN TTN ABP Connect

LoRaWAN & TTN with ESP32

The ESP32 LoRa board from Heltec is very powerful and versatile. The special feature of the board is the built-in LoRa technology and the very good range of LoRa. LoRa can communicate in direct mode (e.g. from ESP32 to ESP32) as well as in different LoRaWAN networks like TTN. Basically all LoRaWAN standards are supported here, as this is primarily only due to the software. This article is about the communication with the ESP32 to the LoRaWAN network TTN in ABP mode.

Used Library: Arduino LMIC (from MCCI Catena) | Version 3.2.0

Useful articles related to this project:

Register Arduino/ESP32 at TTN (ABP)


LoRa Gateway

In order for the ESP32 to communicate with TTN, a gateway with a corresponding connection to the TTN network is still required. An own LoRaWAN gateway is not necessary, because the software is compatible with all LoRaWAN gateways that communicate to TTN. For troubleshooting, it is therefore highly recommended to have your own gateway, because by accessing this hardware you get a lot more information, which is very helpful for troubleshooting. In addition, it can also be used to determine if the packets are arriving at TTNs network server. LG-02 LoRaWAN gateway was used for this project.

Why ABP?

In addition to ABP, there is also the OTAA procedure for logging on to the LoRaWAN network and sending data. The OTAA procedure is more secure than ABP, but also more "complicated". ABP does not require a JOIN request to join the LoRaWAN. No bidirectional connection is established, which means that maximum compatibility is achieved and therefore any single channel gateway can receive and forward received data. The transmit frequency and all related parameters are fixed and can only be changed on the device itself and not by TTN or via the ADR. The biggest advantage is therefore the simpler communication and the highest compatibility with all gateways. The ESP32 and the software/library used in this article is of course also compatible with OTAA and can be reprogrammed accordingly.

Structure of the Library

There are many libraries for LoRaWAN, most of them are further developments or modifications of the original LMIC library. The original LMIC library consists of developments from IBM and enables the communication with the LoRa hardware and LoRaWAN. The code was further developed and made compatible for the TTN as well as for the Arduino. The LMIC repository is no longer maintained and is thus considered obsolete. Both TTN and the developers of this library recommend the MCCI library as the alternative with the highest compatibility. The MCCI library also serves as a base for this project and will be adapted accordingly for use on the ESP32 LoRa board. In general, this library and all other libraries based on the LMIC library basically consist of the following major subcomponents:

LoRaWAN LMIC MCCI Library Overview

Hardware Controller: An essential part of the software is the correct control of the hardware. This includes the control of the LoRa chip as well as the control of SPI and other pins.

LoRaWAN & TNN: LoRa itself is only the physical interface for wireless data transmission. LoRaWAN uses this radio technology, but behind it is only software. For LoRaWAN to work, a network is needed that takes care of decoding/encoding, routing and forwarding the data from the LoRaWAN network. TTN (The Things Network) is probably the best known and largest, but not the only LoRaWAN network. The microcontroller has to provide the data in certain formats and keys for the communication to the gateways and the LoRaWAN network to work.

AES Encryption: LoRa mainly relies on an AES encryption. It is a symmetrical encryption method, which means that the keys for encryption and decryption are the same on both sides. The task of the library is to calculate all keys in such a way that they can also be decrypted again by the network. The most important key is the application key or app session key, because this encrypts the data from the end device to the application and cannot be read by a gateway or other systems in between. AES is generally considered to be quite secure and is a good base for security in IoT devices.


Hardware Pinout

Since the library is basically intended for use on the Arduino, it does not work immediately on the ESP32. The main problem for this is the different pinout of the interfaces and IO pins between Arduino and ESP. The Heltec ESP32 LoRa (V2) board has the following pinout to the LoRa chip:

SPI Pins LoRa Chip <-> ESP32 (SPI)
Description Pin on ESP32
SCK 5
MISO 19
MOSI 27

DIO Pins LoRa Chip <-> ESP32
Description Pin on ESP32
NSS 18
DIO 0 26
DIO 1 35
DIO 2 34
RST 14

Library Configuration (EU Band)

A very important setting of the library is the adaptation to the European frequency band. In the main folder of the library there is another folder with "project_config". In this folder is the configuration file " lmic_project_config.h". Here the second line (#define CFG_eu868 1) is commented out. The line below is commented (//#define CFG_us915 1) . From now on the library works in the Europe frequency band on 868 mHz.

// project-specific definitions
#define CFG_eu868 1
//#define CFG_us915 1
//#define CFG_au915 1
//#define CFG_as923 1
//#define LMIC_COUNTRY_CODE LMIC_COUNTRY_CODE_JP	/* for as923-JP */
//#define CFG_kr920 1
//#define CFG_in866 1
#define CFG_sx1276_radio 1
//#define LMIC_USE_INTERRUPTS

Register ESP32 at TTN

For the software to work properly, some keys are needed. Some of the keys can be generated by yourself. The easiest way is to let TTN generate the keys for the respective device automatically and insert them into the sample code. Since the setup is the same for all development boards (Arduino, ESP32, TTGO etc.), there is another detailed article on the blog about Setup a Device at TTN (ABP mode).

Customize example code

The ABP sample code supplied in the library is used as the base. Since the software is intended for operation on the Arduino, some hardware pins must be changed in the software. In addition, the device must already be registered with TTN in advance so that all keys can be integrated into the sample code. The character set "Hello World!" is transferred as payload.

1. Customize the keys
Three keys are needed for the communication to work. The keys NWKSKEY, APPSKEY and DEVADDR are inserted or edited in the upper lines from the sample code. Here is an example:

static const PROGMEM u1_t NWKSKEY[16] = { 0x1D, 0x1A, 0x15, 0x1F, 0x38, 0x03, 0xC0, 0xA1, 0x7C, 0xA7, 0xAC, 0x0C, 0x4A, 0x49, 0x3B, 0x2B };
static const u1_t PROGMEM APPSKEY[16] = { 0xEC, 0x19, 0x82, 0xA2, 0xC7, 0x2D, 0xFC, 0x42, 0xD7, 0x35, 0xB8, 0x3E, 0xFE, 0xC0, 0x0F, 0xFE };
static const u4_t DEVADDR = 0x260121A4;

2. LoRa Chip Pin Mapping
In addition to the serial communication lines (SPI), the LoRa chip on the ESP32 has other digital I/O pins (DIOs, RST...) that are necessary for control. The following excerpt is already adapted to the LoRa pins on the ESP32 LoRa Board V2 and can be replaced directly in the sample code:

const lmic_pinmap lmic_pins = {
  .nss = 18,
  .rxtx = LMIC_UNUSED_PIN,
  .rst = 14,
  .dio = {26, 34, 35},
};

3. Change SPI Pins
As already mentioned the original library was developed for Arduino boards. Since the Arduino has only one SPI interface with fixed pins, these pins must be adapted accordingly on the ESP32. The following line can be copied directly into the next line after "void steup(){".

void setup() {
  SPI.begin(5, 19, 27, 18);
  ....

The controller now knows which pins have to be used to open an SPI connection and how it can communicate with the LoRa chip.


Hint: Operation with single-channel gateways

The sample code sends out each data packet on a different channel by default. A total of 8+1 channels are available. It starts with the transmission on channel 0. In the next pass, another data packet is transmitted on channel 1. After nine transmissions, the software starts again with channel 0. The 8-channel LoRa gateways have no problems with the constant frequency change. However, if you work with a Single -Channel-Gateway, you will only receive every eighth data packet. If you insert the following lines in the code, you can limit the transmission to one channel:

  //Add this lines inside void setup():

  //LMIC_disableChannel(0);
  LMIC_disableChannel(1);
  LMIC_disableChannel(2);
  LMIC_disableChannel(3);
  LMIC_disableChannel(4);
  LMIC_disableChannel(5);
  LMIC_disableChannel(6);
  LMIC_disableChannel(7);
  LMIC_disableChannel(8);

Note: In the example above, only Channel 0 (868.100 MHz @ SF7) is used for transmission.


Hint: Overwrite frame counter

If the frame counter check is activated in TTN, it must be ensured that the frame counter remains current after a reset or power failure in the controller. The counter could be stored in the EEPROM or Flash during each transmission process and read out again from the memory during the start process of the controller. The frame counter can be overwritten (in the temporary memory of the controller) via the following lines:

//Change Xup, Xdown with your own values
 
LMIC.seqnoUp = Xup; //Uplink Counter
LMIC.seqnoDn = Xdown; //Downlink Counter

Note: Data type is Integer


Decoder for TTN

TTN displays the payload as a hexadecimal byte array. Each transmitted character is represented in a hexadecimal number pair. The following decoder converts the hexadecimal bytes into a plaintext string:

function Decoder(bytes, port) {
  return {
      myTestValue: String.fromCharCode.apply(null, bytes)
  };
}

Hint: Activate debug mode

The debug mode provides a lot of information about the current status in the Serial Monitor. This is a very useful feature especially for monitoring and debugging. For this purpose the following line must be inserted in the file "lmic_project_config.h" (see Library Configuration):

#define LMIC_DEBUG_LEVEL 2


Info: This page was automatically translated and may contain errors
Share:
thumbnail
15.11.2020
Connect LHT65 with LoRaWAN & TTN

The LHT65 is a temperature sensor for LoRaWAN and TTN. In this article we configure and activate the sensor in ABP-Mode for the TTN & LG02 Gateway

Alex @ AEQ-WEB
thumbnail
13.12.2020
From TTN to your own website

This article describes the forwarding of received LoRaWAN data packets from TTN to your own website with HTTP

Alex @ AEQ-WEB

preloader

Auf AEQ-WEB Suchen

AEQ-WEB | Blog

ESP32 LoRa Board LoRaWAN TTN ABP Connect

LoRaWAN & TTN mit ESP32

Das ESP32 LoRa Board von Heltec ist sehr vielseitig einsetzbar. Das besondere an dem Board ist vor allem die verbaute LoRa-Technologie und die sehr guten Reichweiten von LoRa. LoRa kann hier sowohl im Direct-Mode (z.B. von ESP32 zu ESP32) als auch in verschiede LoRaWAN-Netzwerke wie beispielsweise das TTN kommunizieren. Grundsätzlich werden hier alle LoRaWAN Standards unterstützt, da dies primär nur an der Software liegt. In diesem Artikel geht es um die Kommunikation mit dem ESP32 zum LoRaWAN Netzwerk TTN im ABP-Mode.

Verwendete Library: Arduino LMIC (von MCCI Catena) | Version 3.2.0

Das Gateway

Damit der ESP32 mit TTN kommunizieren kann, wird neben dem Board selbst nur noch ein Gateway mit entsprechender Verbindung zum TTN-Netzwerk benötigt. Ein eigenes LoRaWAN Gateway ist nicht unbedingt erforderlich, da die Software mit allen LoRaWAN Gateways, die zu TTN kommunizieren, kompatibel ist. Aber Achtung: Aus der Praxis ist bekannt, dass nicht immer alles mit LoRa sofort und einwandfrei funktioniert. Für die Fehlersuche ist daher ein eigenes Gateway sehr zu empfehlen, da man durch Zugriff auf diese Hardware sehr viele wertvolle Informationen bekommt, die bei der Fehlersuche sehr hilfreich sind. Außerdem kann man dadurch auch feststellen, ob die Datenpakete überhaupt beim TTN-Network-Server ankommen. Für dieses Projekt wurde das Gateway vom Artikel Einrichtung Dragino LG-02 LoRaWAN Gateway mit den dort beschriebenen Einstellungen verwendet.

Warum ABP?

Neben ABP gibt es bekanntlich auch das OTAA verfahren, um sich am LoRaWAN Netzwerk anzumelden bzw. Daten zu senden. Das OTAA-Verfahren ist sicherer als ABP, allerdings auch "komplizierter". ABP benötigt keinen JOIN-Request um am LoRaWAN teilzunehmen. Es wird keine bidirektionale Verbindung aufgebaut, was bedeutet, dass die maximale Kompatibilität erreicht wird und somit auch jedes Single Channel Gateway die Daten empfangen und weiterleiten kann. Die Sendefrequenz und alle zugehörigen Parameter werden fest eingestellt und können nur am Gerät selbst geändert werden und nicht von TTN bzw. über die ADR. Der größte Vorteil ist daher die einfachere Kommunikation und die höchste Kompatibilität mit den Gateways. Da in der Regel nur Sensordaten übertragen werden, die nicht vertraulich sind, ist die Sicherheit bei ABP ausreichend. Der ESP32 und die in diesem Artikel verwendete Software/Library ist selbstverständlich auch mit OTAA kompatibel und kann entsprechend umprogrammiert werden.

Aufbau der Library

Für LoRaWAN gibt es sehr viele Librarys, ein Großteil davon ist eine Weiterentwicklung oder Modifikation der originalem LMIC Library. Die originale LMIC Library besteht wiederum aus Entwicklungen von IBM und ermöglicht die Kommunikation mit der LoRa-Hardware und LoRaWAN. Der Code wurde dann weiterentwickelt und für das TTN sowie für den Arduino kompatibel gemacht. Die LMIC Repository wird nicht mehr gewartet und gilt somit als veraltet. Sowohl von TTN als auch von den Entwicklern dieser Bibliothek wird die MCCI-Library als die Alternative mit der größten Kompatibilität empfohlen. Die MCCI-Library dient auch für dieses Projekt als Basis und wird entsprechend für den Einsatz am ESP32 LoRa Board angepasst. Generell besteht diese und auch alle anderen Librarys, die auf der LMIC-Library basieren, grundsätzlich aus den folgenden großen Teilkomponenten:

LoRaWAN LMIC MCCI Library Overview

Hardware Controller: Ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Software ist die richtige Ansteuerung der Hardware. Dazu gehört die Ansteuerung des LoRa-Chips sowie die Steuerung von SPI und weiteren Pins.

LoRaWAN & TNN: LoRa selbst ist nur die physikalische Schnittstelle, also die Datenübertragung per Funk. LoRaWAN nutzt diese Funktechnologie, aber dahinter befindet sich nur Software. Damit LoRaWAN funktioniert, wird ein Netzwerk benötigt, dass sich um die Decodierung/Encodierung, das Routing und die Weitergabe der Daten aus dem LoRaWAN Netzwerk kümmert. TTN (The Things Network) ist wohl das bekannteste und größte, aber nicht einzige LoRaWAN-Netzwerk. Der Mikrocontroller muss dafür die Daten in bestimmten Formaten und Schlüsseln bereitstellen, damit die Kommunikation zu den Gateways und den LoRaWAN Netzwerk funktioniert. Auch das ist Aufgabe der Library.

AES Verschlüsselung: LoRa setzt hauptsächlich auf eine AES-Verschlüsselung. Es ist ein symmetrisches Verschlüsselungsverfahren, was bedeutet, dass die Schlüssel zur Verschlüsselung und Entschlüsselung auf beiden Seiten gleich sind. Aufgabe der Library ist es, sämtliche Schüssel so zu berechnen, dass diese auch vom Netzwerk wieder entschlüsselt werden können. Der wichtigste Schlüssel ist der Application-Key bzw. App-Session-Key, denn dadurch werden die Daten vom Endgerät bis zur Applikation verschlüsselt und sind von einem Gateway oder anderen Systemen dazwischen nicht lesbar. AES gilt grundsätzlich als recht sicher und ist eine gute Basis für die Sicherheit bei IoT-Geräten.


Hardware Pinout

Da die Library grundsätzlich für den Einsatz am Arduino vorgesehen ist, funktioniert diese am ESP32 nicht sofort. Das Hauptproblem dafür ist die unterschiedliche Pinbelegung der Schnittstellen und IO-Pins zwischen Arduino und ESP. Das Heltec ESP32 LoRa (V2) Board hat zum LoRa-Chip folgende Pinbelegung:

SPI Pins LoRa Chip <-> ESP32 (SPI)
Bezeichnung Pin am ESP32
SCK 5
MISO 19
MOSI 27

DIO Pins LoRa Chip <-> ESP32
Bezeichnung Pin am ESP32
NSS 18
DIO 0 26
DIO 1 35
DIO 2 34
RST 14

Library Konfigurieren (EU Band)

Eine sehr wichtige Einstellung an der Library ist die Anpassung an das Europäische Frequenzband. Im Hauptordner der Library befinde sich ein weiterer Ordner mit "project_config". In diesem Ordner befindet sich die Konfigurationsdatei " lmic_project_config.h". Hier wird die zweite Zeile (#define CFG_eu868 1) auskommentiert. Die darunterliegende Zeile wird kommentiert (//#define CFG_us915 1) . Die Library arbeitet ab sofort im EU-Frequenzband auf 868 mHz.

// project-specific definitions
#define CFG_eu868 1
//#define CFG_us915 1
//#define CFG_au915 1
//#define CFG_as923 1
//#define LMIC_COUNTRY_CODE LMIC_COUNTRY_CODE_JP	/* for as923-JP */
//#define CFG_kr920 1
//#define CFG_in866 1
#define CFG_sx1276_radio 1
//#define LMIC_USE_INTERRUPTS

ESP32 bei TTN registrieren

Damit die Software richtig funktioniert, werden einige Schlüssel benötigt. Die Schlüssel können teilweise selbst generiert werden. Am einfachsten ist es, wenn man die Schlüssel für das jeweilige Gerät automatisch von TTN erzeugen lässt und in den Beispielcode einfügt. Da die Einrichtung für alle Development Boards (Arduino, ESP32, TTGO etc.) gleich ist, gibt es am Blog einen weiteren ausführlichen Artikel über die Einrichtung bei TTN (ABP-Mode).

Beispielcode anpassen

Als Basis wird der in der Library mitgelieferte ABP-Beispielcode verwendet. Da die Software für den Betrieb am Arduino vorgesehen ist, müssen einige Hardware Pins in der Software geändert werden. Außerdem muss das Gerät vorab schon bei TTN registriert sein, damit alle Schlüssel in den Beispielcode integriert werden können. Als Payload wird der Zeichensatz "Hello World!" übertragen.

1. Anpassen der Keys
Damit die Kommunikation zu TTN im ABP-Mode funktioniert, werden drei Schlüssel benötigt. Die Schlüssel NWKSKEY, APPSKEY und DEVADDR werden in den oberen Zeilen vom Beispielcode eingefügt bzw. bearbeitet. Hier ein Beispiel:

static const PROGMEM u1_t NWKSKEY[16] = { 0x1D, 0x1A, 0x15, 0x1F, 0x38, 0x03, 0xC0, 0xA1, 0x7C, 0xA7, 0xAC, 0x0C, 0x4A, 0x49, 0x3B, 0x2B };
static const u1_t PROGMEM APPSKEY[16] = { 0xEC, 0x19, 0x82, 0xA2, 0xC7, 0x2D, 0xFC, 0x42, 0xD7, 0x35, 0xB8, 0x3E, 0xFE, 0xC0, 0x0F, 0xFE };
static const u4_t DEVADDR = 0x260121A4;

2. LoRa Chip Pin Mapping
Neben den seriellen Kommunikationsleitungen (SPI) hat der LoRa-Chip am ESP32 noch weitere digitale I/O-Pins (DIOs, RST...), die für die Ansteuerung notwendig sind. Der folgende Ausschnitt ist auf die LoRa-Pins an das ESP32 LoRa Board V2 bereits angepasst und kann direkt im Beispielcode ersetzt werden:

const lmic_pinmap lmic_pins = {
  .nss = 18,
  .rxtx = LMIC_UNUSED_PIN,
  .rst = 14,
  .dio = {26, 34, 35},
};

3. SPI Pins ändern
Wie bereits erwähnt ist die ursprüngliche Library für Arduino Boards entwickelt worden. Da der Arduino nur eine SPI-Schnittstelle mit fixen Pins hat, müssen diese Pins am ESP32 entsprechend angepasst werden. Die folgende Zeile wird direkt in die nächste Zeile nach "void steup(){" kopiert.

void setup() {
  SPI.begin(5, 19, 27, 18);
  ....

Der Controller weiß jetzt, über welche Pins eine SPI-Verbindung aufgemacht werden muss und wie der LoRa Chip darüber anzusprechen ist.


Tipp: Betrieb mit Single-Channel Gateways

Der Beispielcode sendet standardmäßig jedes Datenpaket auf einem anderen Kanal aus. Insgesamt stehen 8+1 Kanäle zur Verfügung. Begonnen wird mit der Aussendung auf Kanal 0. Im nächsten Durchgang wird ein weiteres Datenpaket auf Kanal 1 ausgesendet. Nach acht Aussendungen beginnt die Software wieder bei Kanal 0. Die 8-Kanal LoRa Gateways haben mit dem ständigen Frequenzwechsel keine Probleme. Wer jedoch mit einem Single -Channel Gateway arbeitet, wird nur jedes achte Datenpaket empfangen. Fügt man im Code folgende Zeilen ein, kann man die Aussendung auf einen Kanal beschränken:

  //Add this lines inside void setup():

  //LMIC_disableChannel(0);
  LMIC_disableChannel(1);
  LMIC_disableChannel(2);
  LMIC_disableChannel(3);
  LMIC_disableChannel(4);
  LMIC_disableChannel(5);
  LMIC_disableChannel(6);
  LMIC_disableChannel(7);
  LMIC_disableChannel(8);

Hinweis: In diesem Beispiel wird nur auf Kanal 0 (868.100 MHz @ SF7) gesendet.


Tipp: Frame Counter überschreiben

Wird der Frame Counter Check in TTN aktiviert, so muss sichergestellt werden, dass der Frame Counter nach einem Reset oder Stromausfall im Controller aktuell bleibt. Der Counter könnte bei jedem Sendevorgang im EEPROM bzw. Flash abgespeichert werden und während den Startvorgang des Controllers wieder aus dem Speicher ausgelesen werden. Über folgende Zeilen kann der Frame Counter (im Zwischenspeicher des Controllers) überschrieben werden:

//Change Xup, Xdown with your own values
 
LMIC.seqnoUp = Xup; //Uplink Counter
LMIC.seqnoDn = Xdown; //Downlink Counter

Hinweis: Datentyp ist Integer


Tipp: Debug Modus aktivieren

Über den Debug-Modus werden im Serial Monitor sehr viele Informationen zum aktuellen Status ausgegeben. Dies ist vor allem für die Überwachung und Fehlersuche ein sehr nützliches Feature. Dazu muss in der Datei "lmic_project_config.h" (siehe Frequenzband Einstellung) folgende Zeile eingefügt werden:

#define LMIC_DEBUG_LEVEL 2

Decoder für TTN

TTN zeigt die Payload als hexadezimale Byte Array an. Jedes übertragene Zeichen wird in einem hexadezimalen Zahlenpaar dargestellt. Der folgende Decoder wandelt die hexadezimalen Bytes entsprechend ASCII-Codierung in einen Klartext-String um:

function Decoder(bytes, port) {
  return {
      myTestValue: String.fromCharCode.apply(null, bytes)
  };
}


Share:
thumbnail
07.09.2019
ESP32 LoRa Arduino IDE Setup

In diesem Artikel zeigen wir, wie ein ESP32 LoRa Board im Arduino IDE konfiguriert wird und wie der angepasste Beispielcode für LoRa funktioniert

Alex @ AEQ-WEB
thumbnail
03.01.2021
Arduino & ESP32 bei TTN registrieren (ABP)

Diese Seite beschreibt die Registrierung und Konfiguration eines LoRa Development Boards wie Arduino, ESP32, TTGO und Ähnliches als Device bei TTN

Alex @ AEQ-WEB