Events

30.01.2022: TTN Ubidots Integration

06.02.2022: Einfacher LC-Oszillator

Eletronik | Funk | Software

Der Technik-Blog

  • Social Media

    YouTube

    Werbung:


    New Posts


    The Tech-Blog

    Arduino read FAN Speed Signal

    Read fan speed with Arduino

    Alex @ AEQ-WEB

    Ventilators, such as those used in industry and computers, have a speed sensor. This sensor generates a so-called tachometer signal, which can be used to monitor the speed and functionality of the fan. This article is about the processing of the tachometer signal with the Arduino.

    How the sensor works

    The speed sensor usually consists of a Hall sensor and a transistor that switches the output signal. In most fans, the sensor is triggered two times per rotation and therefore outputs two pulses on the signal line. In order for the signal to be processed by a microcontroller or oscilloscope, a positive voltage must be present on the signal line. As soon as the sensor switches, the voltage is then pulled down and a low signal occurs. If the sensor is not active, the full voltage is present on the line, which is interpreted as a high signal. To avoid a short circuit or to keep the current as low as possible, a resistor must be connected between the signal line and the positive pole. The following screenshot shows the tacho signal of the fan:

    Werbung:

    The circuit

    As already mentioned, a pull-up resistor (R2) is needed to generate a digital signal. Since most fans are operated with 12 volts, the signal voltage is also the same. However, this is much too high for a microcontroller and must be adjusted so that at the maximum operating voltage, the signal voltage is no more than 5 or 3.3 volts, depending on the microcontroller. Another resistor (R1) is connected in series with R2 to form the voltage divider, which reduces the level voltage accordingly. The tachometer signal line is further routed through the voltage divider to the digital input of the microcontroller. **Arduino Lüfter Drehzahl Signal auswerten

    The Arduino must be connected to the same ground of the fan. If the signal is evaluated via interrupts, it must be ensured that the pin also supports this. With the Arduino Uno only pin 2 or 3 can be used for this.

    Software

    The software for the measurement is very simple. As with the Anemometer project the simplest solution here is to work with interrupts. The example code activates the counting of flank changes (low to high) with interrupts and counts up the value per flank. After one second the counting is stopped and the interrupt function will stop the measurement. Since two flanks are to be expected from the fan per rotation, the counter must then be divided by two. The measuring time is one second, so that the rotations per minute (RPM) can be calculated, the previously divided counter must be multiplied by 60. The results are then displayed in the Serial Monitor.

    Werbung:

    //More information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/
    
    const int SensorPin = 2;  //Define Interrupt Pin (2 or 3 @ Arduino Uno)
    
    int InterruptCounter, rpm;
    
    void setup(){
      delay(1000);
      Serial.begin(9600);
      Serial.print("Counting");
    }
    
    void loop() {
      meassure();
    }
    
    void meassure() {
      InterruptCounter = 0;
      attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin), countup, RISING);
      delay(1000);
      detachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin));
      rpm = (InterruptCounter / 2) * 60;
      display_rpm();
    }
    
    void countup() {
      InterruptCounter++;
    }
    
    void display_rpm() {
      Serial.print("Counts: ");
      Serial.print(InterruptCounter, 1);
      Serial.print(" RPM: ");
      Serial.println(rpm);
    }
    

    The sample code provides usable results, which showed a deviation of around 60 RPM for the fan used in this test. One reason for this is the rather short measurement time. If the measurement time is extended to about 3 seconds, the deviation is significantly lower due to a more accurate average value.

    Attention with PWM

    PWM is often used to control the speed. As soon as PWM is used, no matter if on the positive line or on the ground, the tachometer signal will be disturbed. The problem is that the internal Hall sensor is on the same power supply. The result of the output signal is then PWM and the tacho signal. There are the following solutions to avoid these problems with 3-pin fans:

  • Control with voltage instead of PWM
  • Disable PWM briefly during measurement
  • Synchronize the measurement with PWM generator and subtract the pulses from the flank accordingly


  • A project for "speed monitoring with PWM control" is planned.


    Info: This page was automatically translated and may contain errors
    122X122

    About the Author

    Alex, the founder of AEQ-WEB. He works for more of 10 years with different computers, microcontroller and semiconductors. In addition to hardware projects, he also develops websites, apps and software for computers.

    Top articles in this category:

    Arduino LM358 PT1000 Sensor Converter

    PT1000 Converter for Arduino

    • Video
    • DE/EN

    PT1000 sensors can not be measured directly analog with a microcontroller. How to build a PT100 Converter with LM358 and Arduino?

    read more
    Arduino Anemometer Wind Sensor

    Arduino Measure Wind Speed

    • Video
    • DE/EN

    With a microcontroller like the Arduino, a small circuit and appropriate software the wind speed can be measured with an anemometer

    read more

    Social Media

    YouTube

    Werbung:


    New Posts

Events

23.05.2022: Tiefpassfilter

:

Elektronik | Funk | Software

Der Technik-Blog

  • Social Media

    YouTube

    Werbung:


    Neue Artikel


    Events

    Der Technik-Blog

    Arduino read FAN Speed Signal

    Drehzahlmesser von Lüfter auswerten

    Alex @ AEQ-WEB

    Lüfter, wie sie in der Industrie und in Computern verbaut sind, besitzen einen Drehzahlsensor. Über diesen Sensor wird ein sogenanntes Tachosignal erzeugt, mit dem die Drehzahl und Funktionalität des Lüfters überwacht werden kann. In diesem Artikel geht es um das Auswerten des Tachosignals mit dem Arduino.

    Wie funktioniert der Sensor

    Der Drehzahlsensor besteht meist aus einem Hall-Sensor und einem Transistor, der das Ausgangssignal schaltet. Bei den meisten Lüftern wird der Sensor pro Umdrehung zweimal ausgelöst und gibt daher zwei Impulse auf die Signalleitung. Damit das Signal von einem Mikrocontroller oder vom Oszilloskop ausgewertet werden kann, muss auf der Signalleitung eine positive Spannung anliegen. Sobald der Sensor schaltet, wird dann die Spannung hinuntergezogen und es kommt zu einem Low-Signal. Wenn der Sensor nicht aktiv ist, liegt die volle Spannung auf der Leitung, was als High-Signal interpretiert wird. Damit es zu keinem Kurzschluss kommt bzw. der Strom möglichst gering bleibt, muss ein entsprechender Vorwiderstand im Kiloohm Bereich zwischen Signalleitung und dem Pluspol geschaltet werden. Der folgende Screenshot zeigt das Tachosignal des Lüfters:

    Werbung:

    Die Schaltung

    Wie bereits erwähnt wird ein Pull-Up Widerstand (R2) benötigt, um ein digitales Signal erzeugen zu können. Da die meisten Lüfter mit 12 Volt betrieben werden, ist auch die Signalspannung gleich hoch. Dies ist jedoch für einen Mikrocontroller viel zu hoch und muss so angepasst werden, dass bei der maximalen Betriebsspannung die Signalspannung je nach Mikrocontroller bei höchstens 5 oder 3,3 Volt liegt. Ein weiterer Widerstand (R1) wird in Serie zu R2 geschaltet und bildet somit den Spannungsteiler, der die Pegelspannung entsprechend reduziert. Die Tachosignalleitung wird durch den Spannungsteiler weiter zum digitalen Input des Mikrocontrollers geführt.

    Der Arduino muss mit der Masse von der Versorgungsspannung des Lüfters verbunden sein. Wird das Signal über Interrupts ausgewertet, muss sichergestellt sein, dass der Pin dies auch unterstützt. Beim Arduino Uno kann dafür nur Pin 2 oder 3 verwendet werden.

    Software

    Die Software für die Auswertung ist sehr einfach aufgebaut. Wie auch beim Anemometer Projekt ist hier die einfachste Lösung, wenn man mit Interrupts arbeitet. Interrupts werden beim Arduino Uno nur auf Pin 2 & 3 unterstützt. Der Beispielcode aktiviert die Zählung von Flankenwechsel (Low auf High) mit Interrupts und zählt pro Flanke um den Wert eins hoch. Nach einer Sekunde wird die Messung beendet und die Interrupt-Funktion aufgehoben. Da vom Lüfter pro Umdrehung zwei Flanken zu erwarten sind, muss der Zähler anschließend durch zwei geteilt werden. Die Messzeit beträgt eine Sekunde. Damit daraus die Umdrehungen pro Minute (RPM) errechnet werden können, muss der zuvor geteilte Zähler mit 60 Multipliziert werden. Anschließend werden die Ergebnisse im Serial Monitor ausgegeben.

    Werbung:

    //More information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/
    
    const int SensorPin = 2;  //Define Interrupt Pin (2 or 3 @ Arduino Uno)
    
    int InterruptCounter, rpm;
    
    void setup(){
      delay(1000);
      Serial.begin(9600);
      Serial.print("Counting");
    }
    
    void loop() {
      meassure();
    }
    
    void meassure() {
      InterruptCounter = 0;
      attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin), countup, RISING);
      delay(1000);
      detachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin));
      rpm = (InterruptCounter / 2) * 60;
      display_rpm();
    }
    
    void countup() {
      InterruptCounter++;
    }
    
    void display_rpm() {
      Serial.print("Counts: ");
      Serial.print(InterruptCounter, 1);
      Serial.print(" RPM: ");
      Serial.println(rpm);
    }
    

    Der Beispielcode liefert brauchbare Ergebnisse. Der beim Test verwendete Lüfter hat eine Schwankung von rund 60 RPM. Grund dafür ist u. a. die recht kurze Messzeit. Erhöht man die Messzeit auf etwa 3 Sekunden, so ist die Schwankung aufgrund eines genaueren Mittelwertes deutlich geringer.

    Achtung bei PWM

    Für die Steuerung der Drehzahl wird gerne PWM verwendet. Sobald hier mit PWM gearbeitet wird, egal ob auf der Plusleitung oder an der Masse, kommt es zu Störungen am Tachosignal. Das Problem dabei ist, dass der interne Hall-Sensor auf der gleichen Spannungsversorgung liegt. Die Summe des Ausgangssignals ist dann PWM+Tachosignal. Es gebe dazu folgende Lösungen, um diese Störungen bei 3-Pin Lüftern zu kompensieren:

  • Mit der Spannung steuern anstatt mit PWM
  • PWM während der Messung kurz deaktivieren
  • Auswertung mit PWM-Generator synchronisieren und entsprechend die Pulse von der eigentlichen Flanke subtrahieren


  • Ein Projekt zur "Drehzahlüberwachung mit PWM Regelung" ist geplant.

    Werbung:


    122X122

    Über den Autor

    Alex, der Gründer von AEQ-WEB. Seit über 10 Jahren beschäftigt er sich mit Computern und elektronischen Bauteilen aller Art. Neben den Hardware-Projekten entwickelt er auch Webseiten, Apps und Software für Computer.

    Top Artikel in dieser Kategorie:

    Arduino LM358 PT1000 Sensor Converter

    Temperatur messen mit PT1000 & Arduino

    • Video
    • DE/EN

    PT1000 Sensoren können nicht direkt analog mit einem Mikrocontroller gemessen werden. Wie baut man einen Messwandler mit dem LM358 für den PT1000 und Arduino?

    Weiterlesen
    Arduino Smartmeter S0 Watt Counter

    Arduino Smartmeter

    • Video

    In diesem Artikel zeigen wir, wie aus einem einfachen Stromzähler und einem Arduino ein Smartmeter gebaut wird, das den Zählerstand im EEPROM speichern kann

    Weiterlesen

    Social Media

    YouTube

    Werbung:


    Neue Artikel


    Events