Arduino ESP32 TTGO SIM800 GSM GPRS Modul Overview

The SIM800 is a fantastic little GSM module for microcontrollers that has proven itself reliably for many years. This module is available as a separate small board (stand-alone) or in combination with a microcontroller such as the TTGO board or ESP32. The module is so popular because it can be accessed very easily with AT commands via a serial interface and it already has an extremely large number of features on board.

Nützliche Artikel zum Projekt:

SIM800 - HTTP Request with POST/GET

What can you do with the SIM800?

The SIM800 or SIM800L can receive and make calls. SMS recieving and sending are also possible. In contrast to other modules, this module can also transmit data via GPRS, which opens up a big horizon in the IoT. This enables HTTP or HTTPS requests with GET / POST parameters. TCP or MQTT data packets can also be sent over GRPS.

The SIM800 on the Arduino

The SIM800 can be used with an Arduino. Attention: The SIM800 works with a logic level voltage of 3.3 volts. However, the Arduino works with a level voltage of 5 volts. Therefore, a voltage divider should be interposed on the transmission line (TX) from the Arduino, which reduces the voltage from 5 to 3.3 volts. This is not necessary on the receiving line because the Arduino only receives here and the 3.3 volts are sufficient. The module can either be controlled with standard serial pins (TX, RX) or via "any" pins with software serial. If you work with the hardware pins (0 & 1), you often have problems with the program upload or serial monitor, as these also access the same pins. Software serial eliminates these problems and you can user other free pins and access the serial monitor at the same time.

Arduino SIM800 Wiring and Voltage Regulation

The right energy supply

When it comes to the energy supply, you should have a stable voltage source that can deliver a permanent voltage between 3-4 volts. It can happen that the module briefly has a current consumption of up to two amps when sending, which is why the 3.3 volt pin on the Arduino cannot be used to supply the SIM800. The easiest way to achieve this voltage is with a step-down converter, which is connected in parallel with the VCC of the Arduino or, as shown in the circuit diagram, you use a fixed voltage regulator (VR), which converts 5 volts down to 3,3 volts. Another option would be a 3.7V 1S Li-Ion battery. Attention: Never supply the module with a higher voltage than 4 Volts! It can be damaged very quickly!

The SIM800 ESP32 Board (TTGO)

Another simple solution is the TTGO SIM800 board. This board combines an ESP32 with a SIM800 module. Compared to the Arduino, this combination offers some advantages, because you dont have to think about the level voltages, because everything works with 3.3 volts. In addition, you have a much more powerful and energy-saving controller and you hardly have to worry about the power supply in contrast to the Arduino version.

ESP32 SIM800 TTGO Pins Connection

Control the SIM800

Communication with the SIM800 takes place serially using so-called AT commands. These commands are short, simple commands that are sent from the controller to the module. In the following there are two example codes (Arduino, TTGO) that transform the respective controller into a serial relay. This means that commands from the serial monitor are forwarded directly to the SIM800 module. Conversely, the response from the SIM800 is forwarded directly to the serial monitor. This allows you to test the connection to the module and control it completely manually. The software will do this automatically in future projects.

Sample code Arduino

To be able to access the module with your Arduino, the SoftwareSerial library is required. This library is already installed in your Arduino IDE. The pins for SoftwareSerial must be defined in the code. As can be seen in the circuit diagram, pin 9 is defined for the transmitting line and pin 8 is defined for the receiving line.

//More information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial SWserial(8, 9); // RX, TX

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("SIM800 AT CMD Test");
  SWserial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  if (SWserial.available())
    Serial.write(SWserial.read());
  if (Serial.available())
    SWserial.write(Serial.read());
}

Example code TTGO (ESP32 + SIM800)

On the TTGO board, the serial connection to the module works similarly to the Arduino example code. It is important to switch on the SIM800 first. To do this, simply switch pin 23 to high in your code. You should wait about 10 seconds for the module to start up. Then you can activate the serial interface is on pins 26 and 27. Again, the baud rate is the same as in the Arduino example code.

//More information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/

#define SIM800L_RX     27
#define SIM800L_TX     26
#define SIM800L_PWRKEY 4
#define SIM800L_RST    5
#define SIM800L_POWER  23

void setup()
{
  pinMode(SIM800L_POWER, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(SIM800L_POWER, HIGH);

  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("ESP32+SIM800L AT CMD Test");
  delay(10000);
  
  Serial2.begin(9600, SERIAL_8N1, SIM800L_TX, SIM800L_RX);
}


void loop() {
  while (Serial2.available()) {
    Serial.print(char(Serial2.read()));
  }
  while (Serial.available()) {
     Serial2.print(char(Serial.read()));
  }
}


The following picture shows an example output in the serial monitor of the Arduino IDE:

Arduino ESP32 SIM800 Serial Commands

Baud rate

The baud rate for the serial connection is usually recognized automatically by the SIM800. According to the data sheet, all common rates from 1200 to 57600 bps are supported. If nothing else is necessary, start the connection with a baud rate of 4800 or 9600. Incidentally, the baud rate on the SIM800 can also be set to a fixed value using the command "AT+IPR=BaudRate".

Saving energy with SIM800

The SIM800 in combination with the ESP32 can make a project very energy efficient. If you have a weather station that sends measured values via GPRS every 15 minutes, the easiest way is to switch off the module via pin 23. But there is also the case that the module has to remain switched on, for example because it has to react to calls or text messages. To do this, the module can be put into sleep mode using the command "AT+CSCLK=1". Attention: The module can not be reached via the serial interface. As soon as a call or a text message arrives, the module switches back to normal mode. In order to wake up the module anyway, the DTR pin can be briefly pulled to a low level. The command "AT+CFUN=X" offers further energy saving options. More information is available in the command overview.

Libraries for the SIM800

There are some libraries for GSM modules that also support the SIM800l. However, there are occasional problems with these libraries, especially if the controller is not an Arduino. For this reason it is recommended to control the module directly with the AT commands. A very well-known library that also supports the SIM800 would be for example the TinyGSM Library.

Info: This article has been partially translated automatically and may contain errors.

You Might Also Like

Anzeige:

Video from Post

Social Media

Newsletter

preloader

Auf AEQ-WEB Suchen

AEQ-WEB | Blog

Arduino ESP32 TTGO SIM800 GSM GPRS Modul Overview

Arduino/ESP32 SIM800

Das SIM800 ist ein geniales kleines GSM-Modul für Mikrocontroller, dass sich bereits seit vielen Jahren zuverlässig bewährt hat. Es gibt dieses Modul sowohl als eigenes kleines Board (Stand-Alone) oder in Kombination mit einem Mikrocontroller wie z. B. dem TTGO Board bzw. ESP32. Das Modul ist deshalb so beliebt, weil es sehr einfach über eine serielle Schnittstelle mit AT-Kommandos angesprochen werden kann und extrem viele Features bereits OnBoard hat.

Was das Modul kann?

Das SIM800 bzw. SIM800L kann sowohl Anrufe empfangen als auch Anrufe tätigen. SMS-Empfang und Versand sind ebenfalls problemlos möglich. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Modulen kann dieses Modul auch Daten via GPRS übertragen, was somit einen bereiten Horizont im Bereich der IoT eröffnet. Dadurch sind HTTP oder HTTPS Request mit GET/POST Parametern möglich. Ebenso können auch TCP oder MQTT Datenpakete gesendet werden.

Das SIM800 am Arduino

Das SIM800 kann problemlos mit dem Arduino verwendet werden. Achtung: Das SIM800 arbeitet mit einer Logic-Level-Spannung von 3,3 Volt. Der Arduino arbeitet jedoch mit einer Pegelspannung von 5 Volt. Daher sollte auf der Sendeleitung (TX) vom Arduino ein Spannungsteiler zwischengeschaltet werden, der die Spannung von 5 auf 3,3 Volt reduziert. Auf der Empfangsleitung ist dies nicht notwendig, da der Arduino hier nur empfängt und die 3,3 Volt auch ausreichend sind. Das Modul kann entweder über die standardmäßig vorhandenen Serial-Pins (TX,RX) angesteuert werden, oder über "beliebige" Pins mit Softwareserial. Arbeitet man mit den Hardware-Pins (0 & 1), so hat man oft Probleme mit dem Programm Upload bzw. Serial Monitor, da diese auf die gleichen Pins zugreifen. Mit Softwareserial eliminiert man diese Probleme, kann andere freie Pins nehmen und zugleich auch auf den Serial Monitor zugreifen.

Arduino SIM800 Wiring and Voltage Regulation

Die richtige Energieversorgung

Bei der Energieversorgung sollte man eine stabile Spannungsquelle haben, die eine dauerhafte Spannung zwischen 3-4 Volt liefern kann. Es kann vorkommen, dass das Modul kurzzeitig beim Senden eine Stromaufnahme von bis zu zwei Ampere hat, weshalb der 3,3 Volt Pin am Arduino nicht für die Versorgung vom SIM800 verwendet werden kann. Am einfachsten erreicht man diese Spannung mit einem Step-Down Wandler, der parallel mit der VCC vom Arduino verbunden wird oder man setzt wie im Schaltplan gezeichnet auf einen Festspannungsregler (VR), der die 5 Volt auf etwa 3,3 Volt reduziert. Eine weitere Option wäre ein 3,7V 1S Li-Ion Akku. Achtung: Das Modul darf nicht mit einer höheren Spannung betrieben werden, da es sehr schnell beschädigt werden kann!

Das SIM800 ESP32 Board (TTGO)

Eine weitere einfachere Lösung ist das TTGO SIM800 Board. Dieses Board besteht aus einem ESP32 und einem SIM800 Modul. Gegenüber dem Arduino bietet diese Kombination einige Vorteile, da man sich hier unter anderem um die Pegelspannungen keine Gedanken machen muss, weil alles mit 3,3 Volt arbeitet. Außerdem hat man einen deutlich stärkeren und energiesparenderen Controller und auch über die Spannungsversorgung muss man sich hier im Gegensatz zur Arduino-Variante kaum Gedanken machen.

ESP32 SIM800 TTGO Pins Connection

Das SIM800 ansteuern

Die Kommunikation mit dem SIM800 erfolgt seriell über sogenannte AT-Kommandos. Bei diesen Kommandos handelt es sich um kurze einfache Befehle, die vom jeweiligen Controller an das Modul gesendet werden. Nachfolgend gibt es zwei Beispielcodes (Arduino, TTGO), die den jeweiligen Controller in ein serielles Relay verwandeln. Dies bedeutet, dass Befehle über den Serial Monitor vom Arduino IDE direkt an das SIM800 Modul weitergeleitet werden. Umgekehrt wird die Antwort vom SIM800 direkt an den Serial Monitor weitergeleitet. Dadurch kann man die Verbindung zum Modul testen und vollständig manuell steuern. In den weiteren Projekten wird dies von der Software automatisch erledigt.

Beispielcode Arduino

Um mit dem Arduino auf das Modul zugreifen zu können, wird die SoftwareSerial-Bibliothek benötigt. Diese Bibliothek ist bereits standardmäßig im Arduino IDE installiert. Im Code werden anschließend die Pins für SoftwareSerial definiert. Wie im Schaltplan ersichtlich, wird für die Sendeleitung der Pin 9 definiert und für Empfangsleitung der Pin 8 definiert.

//More information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial SWserial(8, 9); // RX, TX

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("SIM800 AT CMD Test");
  SWserial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  if (SWserial.available())
    Serial.write(SWserial.read());
  if (Serial.available())
    SWserial.write(Serial.read());
}

Beispielcode TTGO (ESP32+SIM800)

Am TTGO Board funktioniert die serielle Verbindung zum Modul ähnlich wie beim Arduino Beispiel Code. Wichtig ist, dass das SIM800 zuerst eingeschaltet wird. Dazu wird im Code einfach der Pin 23 auf High geschaltet. Anschließend sollte man etwa 10 Sekunden warten, bis das Modul hochgefahren ist. Anschließend wird die serielle Schnittstelle auf Pin 26 und 27 aktiviert. Auch hier ist die Baud-Rate gleich wie im Arduino Beispielcode.

//More information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/

#define SIM800L_RX     27
#define SIM800L_TX     26
#define SIM800L_PWRKEY 4
#define SIM800L_RST    5
#define SIM800L_POWER  23

void setup()
{
  pinMode(SIM800L_POWER, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(SIM800L_POWER, HIGH);

  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("ESP32+SIM800L AT CMD Test");
  delay(10000);
  
  Serial2.begin(9600, SERIAL_8N1, SIM800L_TX, SIM800L_RX);
}


void loop() {
  while (Serial2.available()) {
    Serial.print(char(Serial2.read()));
  }
  while (Serial.available()) {
     Serial2.print(char(Serial.read()));
  }
}


Das folgende Bild zeigt eine Beispielausgabe im Serial Monitor vom Arduino IDE:

Arduino ESP32 SIM800 Serial Commands

Die Baud Rate

Die Baud Rate für die serielle Verbindung wird in der Regel vom SIM800 automatisch erkannt. Laut Datenblatt werden alle gängigen Raten von 1200 bis 57600 Bps unterstützt. Wenn nicht anderes notwendig, beginnt man die Verbindung mit einer Baud Rate von 4800 oder 9600. Übrigens kann die Baud Rate am SIM800 über den Befehl "AT+IPR=BaudRate" auch auf einen fixen Wert eingestellt werden.

Energiesparen mit dem SIM800

Mit dem SIM800 speziell in der Kombination mit dem ESP32 kann ein Projekt sehr energiesparend realisiert werden. Hat man eine Wetterstation, die beispielsweise alle 15 Minuten ihre Daten über GPRS sendet, schaltet man am besten das gesamte Modul (Pin 23 auf Low) ab und startet es bei Bedarf neu. Es gibt aber auch den Fall, dass das Modul eingeschaltet bleiben muss, weil es beispielsweise auf Anrufe oder Textnachrichten reagieren muss. Dazu kann man das Modul über den Befehl "AT+CSCLK=1" in den Sleep-Mode versetzen. Achtung: Das Modul ist anschließend nicht mehr über die serielle Schnittstelle erreichbar. Sobald ein Anruf oder eine Textnachricht ankommt, schaltet das Modul sich wieder in den Normalmodus. Um das Modul dennoch aufzuwecken, kann der DTR-Pin kurz auf ein Low-Level gezogen werden. Weitere Energiesparoptionen bietet der Befehl "AT+CFUN=X". Nähere Informationen dazu gibt es in der Befehlsübersicht.

Librarys für das SIM800

Es gibt für GSM Module einige Bibliotheken, die auch das SIM800l unterstützten. Allerdings kommt es bei diesen Librarys gelegentlich zu Problemen, vor allem wenn der Controller kein Arduino ist. Aus diesem Grund empfiehlt es sich, dass Modul direkt mit den AT-Kommandos anzusteuern. Eine sehr bekannte Bibliothek, die auch das SIM800 unterstützt, wäre zum Beispiel die TinyGSM Library.


Share:
thumbnail
08.06.2018
ESP32 WiFi Webserver

In diesem Artikel zeigen wir, wie mit dem ESP32 ein Webserver im lokalen Netzwerk erstellt wird und wie weitere WLAN-Netzwerke gescannt werden

Alex @ AEQ-WEB
thumbnail
08.06.2018
ESP32 im Arduino IDE

In diesem Artikel zeigen wir, wie die notwendigen Treiber und Bibliotheken für den ESP32 installiert werden und welche Einstellungen geändert werden.

Alex @ AEQ-WEB