preloader

Search on AEQ-WEB

AEQ-WEB | Blog

Arduino Anemometer Wind Sensor

Arduino Measure Wind Speed

In a simple weather station the wind speed is measured with an anemometer. The anemometer emits a short pulse with each rotation, which is counted up with a microcontroller over a certain period of time. The wind speed can be measured with an appropriate conversion factor. This updated article is about reading out an anemometer with an Arduino Uno. The software outputs the currently measured wind speed every three seconds over the serial monitor.

Inside of an Anemometer

The anemometer consists of an easily rotatable spoon wheel, which is constantly moved by the wind. There is a small magnet on the axis, which always rotates with it. As sensor a reed contact is used, which closes the electric circuit every time the magnet passes the sensor. This generates an impulse with each rotation. The advantage of this variant is the simple construction with only two wires. A separate power supply is not required. A disadvantage is however the mechanical switch (reed contact). This will be worn out over the years due to the constant switching, which can lead to a failure or to disturbances of the measurement after some years. Alternatively the anemometer can be converted to an optical evaluation (light sensor) or inductive evaluation (Hall sensor). With an appropriate electronic circuit the mechanically caused measuring errors of the reed contact can be compensated quite well.

Connect Your Microcontroller

Since it is basically only a switch, the anemometer is connected similar to a push button. The resistor of 10 kiloohm functions here as a pull-down resistor, which pulls the level in the open circuit to ground. Some microcontrollers have a built-in pull-down resistor which can be activated by software. In this case the resistor could be omitted. The reed contact can be connected directly via the 5 Volt pin. The same circuit can also be operated with 3.3 volts.

Arduino Reed Contact Anemometer Wind Sensor Wiring

The Capacitor

The capacitor in parallel to the resistor is used to briefly catch the voltage from the digital input. Over the years the reed contact will be worn out mechanically. Dirt and metal particles on the contacts can cause the contact to emit several impulses in fractions of a millisecond until the magnet has really tightened it. Since the microcontroller counts the signals via interrupts, it also reacts extremely fast to an edge change. The consequence would be a multiple counting of pulses, although there was actually only one. This would then lead to a clearly excessive wind speed in the evaluation. Since the capacitor always needs a short time to charge, it takes the voltage shortly before the digital pin gets the voltage. Exactly this time is sufficient to compensate for such mechanically caused measurement errors. Afterwards, the capacitor must also discharge again quite quickly, otherwise this also leads to a measurement error. A capacity of 100 Nanofarad is therefore a good compromise. The following figure shows such a mechanical measurement error from an old anemometer:

Arduino Messfehler Anemometer

Processing Of Signals

The microcontroller receives one pulse per rotation. According to the manufacturers data sheet this means that one turn per second equals a wind speed of 2.4 km/h. The software would simply have to count the pulses that come exactly in one second and multiples them with a factor of 2.4. However, since a measuring time of one second provides hardly any useful results, this should be increased to a few seconds. Three seconds are enough for a test. In production, use a measuring time of 30 seconds or one to get good results. The main function of the software is therefore to count the individual pulses and divide them by the measuring time. The result must then be multiplied by a factor of 2.4. The result is the wind speed in kilometers per hour.

Arduino Anemometer Software Convert Pulse to kmh

Software

As already mentioned, the main task of the software is to count the individual pulses in a time window and convert them into a speed. To read in a digital input continuously via the software and to evaluate it with comparison operations is not very efficient. The better solution are interrupts. Before each measurement the pulse counter is set to zero. Then the interrupt is activated on the connected pin in RISING-mode. If a change (LOW to HIGH) occurs at the digital input, the controller triggers an interrupt. At each interrupt the pulse counter is now added by the value "one". Although there is a delay of several seconds after the interrupt is activated and the software is "frozen", interrupts are counted as well. After the measuring time has expired, the interrupt at the pin is cancelled and the current pulses are converted to the wind speed with the time and conversion factor. Afterwards an output in the Serial Monitor is generated. More information about interrupts can be found ""HERE"". The following screenshot shows the Serial Monitor of the Arduino IDE with actual measured values:

Arduino Anemometer Serial Monitor
//More Information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/
//Version 2.0 | 11-NOV-2020

const int RecordTime = 3; //Define Measuring Time (Seconds)
const int SensorPin = 3;  //Define Interrupt Pin (2 or 3 @ Arduino Uno)

int InterruptCounter;
float WindSpeed;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  meassure();
  Serial.print("Wind Speed: ");
  Serial.print(WindSpeed);       //Speed in km/h
  Serial.print(" km/h - ");
  Serial.print(WindSpeed / 3.6); //Speed in m/s
  Serial.println(" m/s");
}

void meassure() {
  InterruptCounter = 0;
  attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin), countup, RISING);
  delay(1000 * RecordTime);
  detachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin));
  WindSpeed = (float)InterruptCounter / (float)RecordTime * 2.4;
}

void countup() {
  InterruptCounter++;
}


Info: This page was automatically translated and may contain errors
Share:
thumbnail
07.06.2018
Arduino CC1101 Transceiver

On this page we will show you how to make a data transfer with the CC1101 and an Arduino. Wiring plan and libraries are available on AEQ-WEB

Alex @ AEQ-WEB
thumbnail
05.01.2017
SIM800 Arduino GPRS

On this page, we will show you how to use the SIM800 GSM module to make an HTTP post request via GPRS. You can find more information at AEQ-WEB

Alex @ AEQ-WEB

preloader

Auf AEQ-WEB Suchen

AEQ-WEB | Blog

Arduino Anemometer Wind Sensor

Arduino Anemometer Schaltung

In einer einfachen Wetterstation wird die Windgeschwindigkeit über Anemometer ermittelt. Das Anemometer gibt bei jeder Umdrehung einen kurzen Impuls ab, der mit einem Mikrocontroller über einen bestimmten Zeitraum hochgezählt wird. Durch entsprechenden Umrechnungsfaktor kann die Windgeschwindigkeit gemessen werden. In diesem aktualisierten Beitrag geht es um das Auslesen eines Anemometers mit einem Arduino Uno. Die Software gibt über den Serial Monitor alle drei Sekunden die aktuell gemessene Windgeschwindigkeit aus.

Nützliche Artikel zum Projekt:

Wie funktionieren Interrupts am Arduino


Innenleben vom Anemometer

Das Anemometer besteht aus einem leicht drehbaren Löffelrad, was vom Wind ständig angetrieben wird. Auf der Achse befindet sich ein kleiner, immer mitdrehender Magnet. Als Sensor kommt ein Reed-Kontakt zum Einsatz, der beim vorbeifahren des Magneten jedes mal den Stromkreis kurz schließt. Dadurch wird bei jeder Umdrehung ein Impuls generiert. Der Vorteil dieser Variante ist der einfache Aufbau mit nur zwei Leitungen. Eine eigene Stromversorgung wird hier nicht benötigt. Ein Nachteil ist jedoch der mechanische Schalter (Reedkontakt). Dieser wird über die Jahre durch das ständige Schalten abgenützt, was nach einigen Jahren zu einem Ausfall oder zu Störungen an der Messung führen kann. Alternativ könne man das Anemometer auf eine optische Auswertung (Lichtschranke) oder induktive Auswertung (Hallsensor) umbauen. Mit einer entsprechenden elektronischen Schaltung können die mechanisch bedingten Messfehler vom Reedkontakt recht gut kompensiert werden.

Anschluss an dem Mikrocontroller

Da es sich im Grunde nur um einen Schalter handelt, wird das Anemometer ähnlich wie ein Taster angeschlossen. Der Widerstand von 10 Kiloohm fungiert hier als Pull-Down Widerstand, der den Pegel im offenen Stromkreis gegen Masse zieht. Einige Mikrocontroller haben im inneren einen Pull-Down Widerstand eingebaut, der über die Software aktiviert werden kann. In diesem Fall könnte der Widerstand weggelassen werden. Der Reed-Kontakt kann direkt über den 5 Volt Pin angeschlossen werden. Die gleiche Schaltung kann übrigens auch mit 3,3 Volt betrieben werden.

Arduino Reed Contact Anemometer Wind Sensor Wiring

Der Kondensator

Der Kondensator parallel zum Widerstand dient zum kurzzeitigen Abfangen der Spannung vom digitalen Eingang. Über die Jahre wird der Reed-Kontakt mechanisch abgenützt. Dreck und Metallstaub auf den Kontakten kann dazu führen, das der Kontakt beim schließen mehrere Impulse in Bruchteilen einer Millisekunde abgibt, bis der Magnet diesen erst richtig fest angezogen hat. Da der Mikrocontroller die Signale über Interrupts zählt, reagiert dieser auch extrem schnell auf einen Flankenwechsel. Die Folge wäre ein mehrfaches Zählen der Impulse, obwohl es tatsächlich nur einen gegeben hat. Dies würde in der Auswertung dann zu einer deutlich überhöhten Windgeschwindigkeit führen. Da der Kondensator immer eine kurze Zeit zum Aufladen braucht, nimmt dieser die Spannung kurz weg, bevor der digitale Pin die Spannung bekommt. Genau diese Zeit reicht aus, um solche mechanisch bedingten Messfehler zu kompensieren. Anschließend muss sich der Kondensator auch wieder recht schnell entladen, da dies sonst ebenfalls zu einem Messfehler führt. Eine Kapazität von 100 Nanofarad ist daher ein guter Kompromiss. Die folgende Grafik zeigt einen derartigen mechanischen Messfehler von einem alten Anemometer:

Arduino Messfehler Anemometer

Auswertung der Signale

Der Mikrocontroller bekommt pro Umdrehung einen Impuls. Laut Datenblatt des Herstellers besagt dieses, dass eine Umdrehung pro Sekunde eine Windgeschwindigkeit von 2,4 km/h ergibt. Die Software müsste dazu einfach die Impulse, die genau in einer Sekunde kommen, addieren und mit dem Faktor 2,4 multiplizieren. Da eine Messzeit von einer Sekunde aber kaum brauchbare Ergebnisse liefert, sollte diese schon auf einige Sekunden erhöht werden. Für einen Test sind drei Sekunden ausreichend. Im produktiven Einsatz würde eine Messzeit von 30 Sekunden oder einer Minute schon sehr gute Ergebnisse bringen. Die Aufgabe der Software ist es daher, die einzelnen Impulse zu zählen und durch die Messzeit zu dividieren. Anschließend muss das Ergebnis um den Faktor 2,4 Multipliziert werden. Das Resultat ist die Windgeschwindigkeit in Kilometer pro Stunde.

Arduino Anemometer Software Convert Pulse to kmh

Die Software

Wie bereits erwähnt ist die Hauptaufgabe der Software, die einzelnen Impulse in einem Zeitfenster zu zählen und in eine Geschwindigkeit umzurechnen. Einen digitalen Input über die Software ständig einzulesen und mit Vergleichsoperationen auszuwerten, ist nicht sehr effizient. Die bessere Lösung dafür sind Interrupts. Vor jeder Messung wird der Impulszähler auf null gesetzt. Anschließend wird auf den angeschlossenen Pin der Interrupt im RISING-Mode aktiviert. Kommt es zu einem Flankenwechsel (LOW auf HIGH) am digitalen Input, so löst der Controller einen Interrupt aus. Bei jedem Interrupt wird jetzt der Impulszähler um den Wert "Eins" addiert. Obwohl nach der Aktivierung des Interrupts ein Delay von einigen Sekunden herrscht und die Software quasi "eingefroren" ist, werden Interrupts mitgezählt. Nach Ablauf der Messzeit wird der Interrupt am Pin aufgehoben und die aktuellen Impulse mit der Zeit und Umrechnungsfaktor in die Windgeschwindigkeit umgerechnet. Anschließend erfolgt eine Ausgabe im Serial Monitor. Mehr Infos und ein Video zum Thema Interrupts gibt es hier. Der folgende Screenshot zeigt den Serial Monitor vom Arduino IDE mit aktuellen Messwerten:

Arduino Anemometer Serial Monitor
//More Information at: https://www.aeq-web.com/
//Version 2.0 | 11-NOV-2020

const int RecordTime = 3; //Define Measuring Time (Seconds)
const int SensorPin = 3;  //Define Interrupt Pin (2 or 3 @ Arduino Uno)

int InterruptCounter;
float WindSpeed;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  meassure();
  Serial.print("Wind Speed: ");
  Serial.print(WindSpeed);       //Speed in km/h
  Serial.print(" km/h - ");
  Serial.print(WindSpeed / 3.6); //Speed in m/s
  Serial.println(" m/s");
}

void meassure() {
  InterruptCounter = 0;
  attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin), countup, RISING);
  delay(1000 * RecordTime);
  detachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(SensorPin));
  WindSpeed = (float)InterruptCounter / (float)RecordTime * 2.4;
}

void countup() {
  InterruptCounter++;
}


Share:
thumbnail
28.02.2017
Arduino Anemometer bauen

Auf dieser Seite geht es um die Konfiguration eines Anemometer Windrades mit dem Arduino Board. Welche Bauteile und Software man braucht, erfährt ihr hier

Alex @ AEQ-WEB
thumbnail
02.06.2018
Arduino Wetterstation

Hier gibt es eine professionelle Anleitung zum Bau einer Arduino Wetterstation. Temperatur, Wind, Feuchte & Luftdruck werden per HTTP an den Server gesendet

Alex @ AEQ-WEB