AEQ-WEB

Arduino Smarthome LED Strip Control Webinterface
Arduino
15.10.2018

Schalte Sprache zu: de German

Smarthome - LED Strip control


Smart home made by yourself

Smarthome is a very popular topic. Most commercial products are often very expensive and not compatible with everything, because some manufacturers use their own protocols. In this article we show how you can control an LED strip via a web interface. An Arduino Uno board works in the background, which communicates with the home network via an Ethernet shield. The power supply from the led strip is controlled via a relay card. The relay card is controlled via the digital I/O pins of the Arduino board.


Smarthome Arduino Relay installed on Plexi Glas

Hardware

The LED strip is mounted in Aluminum profiles on the wall. It does not only look very nice, it also makes it easy to replace the strip and keeps it really strong the wall or ceiling. In principle, any LED strip can be used for this project, because the Arduino board does not power the LEDs with its own voltage. Thats the reason while we need a relay card. A relay works like a light switch in this project. When the relay becomes power, two contacts close in it and the energy can flow over it. If the relay has no voltage, the contacts are open and no energy can flow. The relay is used in a large number of circuits and can control high currents galvanically isolated. On the Arduino board we mount an Ethernet Shield. This is necessary for the network connection. Therefore, you need a network cable that is connected to a WiFi access point or a modem. If you enter the IP address on your smartphone or computer via the browser, you should see the web interface from the controller.


Arduino Ethernet Wiring Plan for Smarthome LED Strip Control

Arduino Software

The software for the Arduino board does not need any external libraries. The Ethernet Shield should therefore work with the traditional existing libraries. It is important that some parameters are changed before you upload the software to the board. The addresses of MAC, IP, Gateway and Subnet must be adapted to the network environment. Since in most cases a fixed IP address is desired, so we have decided to use a static addresses. Basically, the rest of the code can be take over, except the I/O pins between relay board and Arduino were not wired according to our wiring schematics. Before you start the upload, all connections should already be connected. After that, you can enter the IP address of the Arduino board in your browser and you should see the web interface. After you click on "TURN LED1 ON", then the first relay should switch on and the LED strip should light now.


LED Strip Smarthome Control Panel iOS


Info: This article has been partially translated automatically and may contain errors.

AEQ-WEB

Arduino Smarthome LED Strip Control Webinterface
Arduino
13.10.2018

Switch language to: en Englisch

Smarthome - LED Strip steuern

Für dieses Projekt gibt es auch ein Video auf Youtube: Arduino Smarthome - LED Strip über WiFi & Ethernet steuern mit einem Webinterface


Smarthome selbst gemacht

Smarthome ist ein sehr gefragtes Thema. Die meisten fertigen Produkte sind oft sehr teuer und nicht mit allem kompatibel, da oft einige Hersteller eigenen Protokolle verwenden. Wir zeigen in diesem Artikel, wie ein LED-Strip über ein Webinterface gesteuert wird. Als Hardware arbeitet im Hintergrund ein Arduino Uno, der über das Ethernet Shield mit dem Heimnetzwerk kommuniziert. Über die digitalen I/O Ports wird eine Relaiskarte angesteuert, die dann die Stromversorgung für den LED-Strip regelt.


Smarthome Arduino Relay installed on Plexi Glas

Die Hardware

Der LED-Strip wird in ALU-Profilen an der Wand befestigt. Das sieht nicht nur schön aus, sonder der Strip kann dadurch auch leicht ausgetauscht werden und hält sehr gut an der Wand oder Decke. Als LED-Strip kann grundsätzlich jeder beliebige verwendet werden, da das Arduino Board die LEDs nicht mit der eigenen Spannung betreibt. Damit das möglich ist, wird eine Relaiskarte benötigt. Ein Relay funktioniert in diesem Projekt wie ein Lichtschalter. Wenn das Relay Spannung hat, schließen sich darin zwei Kontakte und der Strom kann dann darüber fließen. Wenn das Relay keine Spannung hat, sind die Kontakte offen und es kann kein Strom fließen. Das Relay wird in sehr vielen Schaltung verwendet und dient hauptsächlich dafür, dass große Ströme galvanisch getrennt fließen können. Auf des Arduino Board wird noch ein Ethernet Shield gesteckt. Dies ist für die Netzwerkverbindung notwendig. Man benötigt deshalb ein Netzwerkkabel, das mit einem W-LAN Accesspoint oder einem Modem verbunden ist. Wenn man dann auf seinen Smartphone oder Computer über den Browser die IP-Adresse eingibt, sollte man auf das Webinterface von der Steuerung kommen.


Arduino Ethernet Wiring Plan for Smarthome LED Strip Control

Arduino Software

Die Software für das Arduino Board benötigt keine externen Librarys. Das Ethernet Shield sollte daher mit den herkömmlichen bereits vorhanden Librarys funktionieren. Wichtig ist, dass einige Parameter vorab geändert werden. Die Adressen von MAC, IP, Gateway und Subnet müssen an die Netzwerkumgebung angepasst werden. Da in den meisten Fällen eine fixe IP-Adresse gewünscht ist, haben wir uns für statische Adressen und den Verzicht auf einen DHCP-Server entschieden. Grundsätzlich kann der restliche Code belassen werden, außer die I/O Pins zwischen Relaiskarte und Arduino wurden nicht nach unserem Schaltplan verdrahtet. Bevor der Upload durchgeführt wird, sollten bereits alle Verbindungen angeschlossen sein. Wenn man jetzt mit dem Browser die IP-Adresse vom Arduino Board eingibt, sollte bereits das Webinterface kommen. Klickt man auf "TURN LED1 ON", so sollte dann das erste Relais schalten und der LED-Strip leuchten.


LED Strip Smarthome Control Panel iOS