Arduino DC 36V 5V Capacitive Sesnor

There is also a video on YouTube for this article: Capacitive sensors - basics and how to use the proximity sensors with Arduino

A capacitive sensor or proximity sensor detects capacities changes in the environment. The sensor reacts on various materials that have a certain conductivity. These mainly include metals and liquids. Some sensors also have the possibility to adjust the sensitivity. This can be done via a potentiometer or a button, with it the sensor can be teached to the capacity of the environment. The sensor comes from the industry, which therefore the most sensors work with 24 volts. The sensor is often used to detect filling levels in tanks, air bubbles in pipes or for detecting leaks. In addition, it can also be used as a metal detector, touch sensor or as a door contact.

Using the sensor with Arduino

The sensor is also perfect useful for many Arduino projects. Some sensors are working in a wide voltage range from 6 to 36 volts. It will also work with 5 volts on the Arduino. In this case, you can use simply the supply voltage from the Arduino board and connect the signal line to a digital input on controller. The Arduino read the defined digital input pin and get the status of the sensor (HIGH or LOW).

Arduino Capacitive Sensor with 5 Volt

Using sensors with 24 volts

Many sensors only work with 24 volts. So that sensors with a switching level of more than 5 volts also work on the Arduino, a corresponding voltage divider must be built. The simple voltage divider have two resistors that convert the 24 volts to 5 volts. In this example we use a series connection of a 1800 ohm and a 470 ohm resistor. In the middle of the circuit we connect the digital pin of the Arduino.

Arduino Capacitive Sensor with 24 voltage divider

Arduino Example Code

The example code is relatively simple and works like the example code of a button. First the digital input pin is defined. In the main loop, the digital pin is queried and, depending on the status (0 or 1), the corresponding output takes place in the Serial Monitor. It will then indicate if the sensor is active or not.

int sensorpin = 2;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(sensorpin, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  int sensorstate = digitalRead(sensorpin);
  if (sensorstate == 1) {
    Serial.println("Cap. Sensor active");
  } else {
    Serial.println("Cap. Sensor not active");
  }
  delay(10);
}
Info: This article has been partially translated automatically and may contain errors.

You Might Also Like

Anzeige:

Social Media

Newsletter

Arduino DC 36V 5V Capacitive Sesnor

Ein kapazitiver Sensor oder auch Näherungssensor detektiert kapazitive Veränderungen in der Umgebung. Der Sensor regiert daher auf verschiedene Stoffe, die eine gewisse Leitfähigkeit haben. Dazu gehören hauptsächlich Metalle und Flüssigkeiten. Einige Sensoren besitzen auch die Möglichkeit, die Empfindlichkeit einzustellen. Dies geschieht entweder über ein Potentiometer oder einen Taster, mit dem der Sensor an die Kapazität von der Umgebung angepasst werden kann. Da der Sensor sehr viel in der Industrie eingesetzt wird, arbeiten die meisten Sensoren mit 24 Volt. Der Sensor wird gerne zum Ermitteln von Füllständen in Tanks, Luftblasen in Leitungen oder auch zum Detektieren von Flüssigkeitsaustritten bzw. Lecks verwendet. Darüber hinaus kann er auch als Metalldetektor, Berührungssensor oder Türkontakt verwendet werden.

Der Sensor am Arduino

Für Sensor eignet sich Beispielsweise perfekt für sämtliche Arduino Projekte. Einige Sensoren, die z.B. in einem Spannungsbereich von 6 bis 36 Volt arbeiten, werden auch mit 5 Volt am Arduino funktionieren. Dazu wird einfach die Versorgungsspannung vom Arduino hergenommen und die Signalleitung an einen digitalen Eingang am Arduino angeschlossen. Am Arduino selbst muss lediglich der digitale Eingang eingelesen werden, der dann je nach Status vom Sensor HIGH oder LOW ist.

Arduino Capacitive Sensor with 5 Volt

24 Volt Sensoren

Viele Sensoren arbeiten jedoch nur mit 24 Volt und schalten diese auch hinaus. Damit Sensoren mit einem Schaltpegel von über 5 Volt haben auch am Arduino funktionieren, muss ein entsprechender Spannungsteiler gebaut werden. Der einfache Spannungsteiler besteht aus zwei Widerständen, die die 24 Volt auf 5 Volt konvertieren. In diesem Beispiel ist es eine Reihenschaltung von einem 1800 Ohm und einem 470 Ohm Widerstand. In der Mitte wird dann der digitale Pin vom Arduino angeschlossen.

Arduino Capacitive Sensor with 24 voltage divider

Arduino Code

Der Beispielcode ist relativ einfach aufgebaut und funktioniert ähnlich wie der Beispielcode eines Tasters. Zuerst wird der digitale Eingangspin definiert. In der Hauptschleife wird der digitale Pin abgefragt und je nach Status (0 oder 1) findet die entsprechende Ausgabe im Serial Monitor statt. Dabei wird dann angezeigt, ob der Sensor aktiv ist oder nicht.

int sensorpin = 2;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(sensorpin, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  int sensorstate = digitalRead(sensorpin);
  if (sensorstate == 1) {
    Serial.println("Cap. Sensor active");
  } else {
    Serial.println("Cap. Sensor not active");
  }
  delay(10);
}

Oft gelesen

Anzeige:

Social Media

Newsletter